Texas Emergency Management Conference Sets Record Turnout in Fort Worth

Texas State Flag
For Immediate Distribution
June 4, 2024

Texas Emergency Management Conference Sets Record Turnout in Fort Worth

TDEM Announces The Conference Will Return to the Fort Worth Convention Center in 2025

FORT WORTH – Following a series of informational training sessions, educational workshops, and networking opportunities at the Texas Emergency Management Conference that occurred last week, the Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM) announced record-setting turnout for the largest emergency management conference in the country.

Approximately 4,000 attendees from over 40 states and 3 countries registered to attend The Conference, representing first responders, emergency managers from local jurisdictions, elected officials, state and federal agencies, tribal communities, private sector partners, and other decision-makers from across the country and beyond.

The four day event is the largest of its kind in the nation and provides an incomparable opportunity to exchange ideas, observe the latest technology, and learn from subject matter experts in the emergency management field.

“With more than 200 workshops, extensive exhibit hall space, awards recognition, and closing ceremony concert, TDEM continues to highlight the numerous ways emergency management professionals work to serve communities across the state,” said Texas Emergency Management Chief Nim Kidd. “From the first responders and government officials, to industry leaders and the general public, everyone has a role to play in protecting our communities from disasters. As hurricane season begins and as emergency responders continue response and recovery efforts from spring storms and severe weather in communities across the state, it’s important now more than ever to continue coordination and collaboration between all levels of government, the private sector, and the public, to keep people safe.”

During its awards luncheon ceremony on Thursday, TDEM announced the winners of the Texas Emergency Management Awards, recognizing the accomplishments of those in the emergency management field in Texas during the past year. The ceremony included new recognitions for volunteer service acknowledging compassionate commitment to supporting communities in need.

Winners were selected based on various criteria for each category, but each ultimately proved their leadership, courage, and dedication to serving their communities during times of disaster.

Texas Emergency Management Hall of Fame– Billy Delgado (Nueces County), Jerry Huffman (Tom Green County), Rocky Vaz (Dallas County)

Induction to the Texas Emergency Management Hall of Fame is for those who have dedicated their life to enhancing emergency management in the state and the nation. These men and women represent the best of us in leading by example, charting new courses, and motivating us to find the best in ourselves. Our lives are better because they have served and show us what it means to be experts in our field.

Texas Emergency Management Hometown Hero– James Schroeder (Gray County)

The Emergency Management Hometown Hero Award recognizes an individual or group that exhibited extraordinary service and leadership in helping fellow residents during an emergency situation, disaster or crisis scene.

Texas Emergency Management Spouse of the Year– Brittany Dooley (Rusk County)

This award recognizes a spouse who not only contributes to emergency management by supporting their spouse but also makes their own contributions to emergency management community.

Texas Emergency Management Partnership Recognition – Emmitt Eldridge (San Jacinto County)

The Texas Emergency Management Partnership Award recognizes agencies that demonstrated a significant commitment to creating a strong partnership with the local government officials and participation in local community preparedness initiatives.

The Doctor Chuck Bauer Award – Dr. Ray Fowler (Dallas County)

The Dr. Chuck Bauer Award recognizes medical professionals and their contributions to emergency management through incident response, disaster planning or other provision of healthcare or instructional preparedness.

Texas Emergency Management News Flash Award – Pedro Guerrero (Telemundo Dallas)

The Texas Emergency Management News Flash Award honors excellence in journalism tied to a particular event or disaster including breaking news coverage, or impactful storytelling that informs the public of a disaster threat in the community that helps save lives and property. This reporting may also include educational information on the main phases of emergency management: preparedness, response, recovery and hazard mitigation.

Texas Emergency Management Agency of the Year– Texas Department of Transportation

The Texas Emergency Management Council Agency of the Year Award recognizes outstanding support provided by an agency to the communities of Texas during disasters.

Texas Emergency Management Leadership Award– Jeffery Fincke (Kendall County) and Azell J. Carter, Jr. (Harris County)

The Texas Emergency Management Leadership Award recognizes an individual, within or outside the formal emergency management community whose outstanding achievements demonstrated a positive and dramatic change in emergency management departments and/or the community.

Distinguished Volunteer Service Award – Janell Menahem (Potter County)

The Distinguished Volunteer Service Award recognizes an individual or group who combine practical achievements with innovative solutions to create a significant impact in times of disaster.

Spirit of Service of Award – Tricia Lindsey (Dallas County)

The Spirit of Service Award is a tribute to those whose volunteer efforts are driven by heart, transforming goodwill into action and inspiration into reality.

Texas Radio Amateur Civil Emergency Service (RACES) Member of the Year – Marci Rossiter (Potter County)

The Texas RACES member of the year for outstanding service by a volunteer recognizes an individual or group that merge actionable results with creative thinking, leaving a profound impact in the wake of disasters.

Voluntary Organizations Active in Disaster (VOAD) Member Organization of the Year – Texans on Mission

The VOAD Member Organization of the Year Award recognizes an individual or group that that has demonstrated exceptional commitment, impact, and service in disaster response and recovery across our great state. The recipient exemplifies the 4 C’s of VOAD: Cooperation, Communication, Coordination, Collaboration.

Additionally, Chief Kidd and Fort Worth Mayor Mattie Parker announced the 2025 Texas Emergency Management Conference will take place at the Fort Worth Convention Center from May 27-30, 2025. Registration information for The Conference 2025 will be announced at a later date.

(Photo: Texas Division of Emergency Management/Jason Arana)

(Photo: Texas Division of Emergency Management/Nate Purvis)
(Photo: Texas Division of Emergency Management/Jason Arana)

(Photo: Texas Division of Emergency Management/Jason Arana)

(Photo: Texas Division of Emergency Management/Jason Arana)